People should only buy food sourced locally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

The discussion of buying food from local vendors only is surely one that begs the question of how it could yield an ideal outcome. This idea is fruitful considering employment along with people’s health. Nonetheless, the cons of such a trend are pretty clear since the main concerns would be ecologic changes and an unstable rural economy.

Circling back to the pros, this tendency will include local economic development by the agriculture sector. Due to this, more and more residents will get involved in the agronomy in their home places; hence, the main predicament of unemployment could be tackled. Likewise, the central concern nowadays, that is food safety, will finally be curtailed. The locals will get access to fresh healthy groceries without preservatives and genetically modified substances. Therefore, shifting to a trend like this could indeed provide the ability to generate a healthy society.

On the other hand, the cons of such an approach relate to cumbersome implications for the surrounding nature. There is no vagueness in the fact that with food industry development, domestic dwellers will face the need to expand the lands. The only way to solve the issue is to dry out natural water reservoirs along with deforestation; thus, it will negatively impact the ecologic balance in their neighborhood. Moreover, due to total dependence on agriculture, peasants will be at risk of having unstable profits. As the weather changes are crucially important to crop yields, in dry years they might be forced into bankruptcy.

To conclude, both sides present strong arguments. The idea of obtaining foodstuffs locally might provide social and practical uses. Nevertheless, let’s not ignore the severity of consequences for nature and the rural economy.