People sleep less than before in many countries. Why do people sleepless? What effect does it have on individuals and societies?

In this day and age, the majority of people tend to sleep less than they used to. While this phenomenon has various reasons,it adversely influences both individuals and communities as well.

To begin with, people devote less time to sleeping due to a variety of reasons. Firstly, the high standard of living today obligates individuals to work for longer periods instead of sleeping. This is due to the soaring inflation rate, which compels workers to work overtime or nightshift in order to earn money to pay for basic needs and bills. However, in the past, salaries were compatible with affording most of the expenses. In addition, the advent of cutting-edge technological tools encourages people to sleep less. Series and movies on Netflix,for instance, are extremely appealing to viewers that they have a tendency to complete a whole season in merely one night, making them neglect to go to their bed. If this technology were not available as in the past, they would sleep sufficiently.

As a consequence, not only would a lack of sleep affect humans, but it would also affect their societies. Regarding the former, this can lead to hazardous health issues such as stroke or Alzheimer’s disease, which,consequently, affects their performance and ability to work. In terms of communities, impaired workers could result in financial strain on the government. The best illustration of this is that they will probably require extra health care, which is considered a huge burden for some developing countries, such as Egypt. Also, the rate of productivity could dwindle as these impaired workers are unable to work efficiently. Therefore, citizens who do not sleep well can lead to a serious financial crisis in their societies.