You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Nowadays entertainers are paid more than politicians. What are the reasons behind this? Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words

It is argued that politicians earn less amount of money compared to celebrities. The main reasons behind this phenomenon are that politicians earn fixed salaries, and celebrities charge high fees based on their popularity. I believe that it is a positive development because celebrities will have to pay high income tax.

The prime reason is that the salary of politicians is fixed. This is because politicians are public servants who are elected by the people for a fixed period, during this period politicians are paid fixed salary based on their post. As they are public servants they are given various facilities, and enough money to fulfill his needs. Moreover, famous celebrities charge very high fees. As these celebrities are famous they charge high fees to attend any events and for casting in movies. Many brands pay a huge amount of money to celebrities to promote their product. For example, Hollywood celebrities charge millions of dollars for casting in movies or advertisements.

What is more, it is a positive development as celebrities earning more money have to pay high income tax. This is because every citizen has to pay income tax from their total income, similarly when celebrities earn a huge amount of money, they have to pay a large proportion of income as tax to the state. These money will add a huge amount of money to the government treasury. As a result, the state can use this tax money for the development of the nation. For instance, famous Indian celebrity Shah Rukh Khan paid the highest income tax in the financial year 2025-2026 which gives a financial boost to the country.

To conclude, high fees of famous celebrities and fixed income of politicians are the main reasons, and it is a positive development as these celebrities have to pay more income tax to the government.