People sleep less than before in many countries. Why do people sleepless? What effect does it have on individuals and societies?

Most of the people need to sleep well to show their best performance. This days a noticeable trend has emerged that people sleep less than past. This phenomenon can be attributed to various factors such as globalization, work stresses, modern lifestyle demands and digital technology. The repercussions of reduce sleep can have bad effects on individual and society as a whole.

One of the primary reasons for decreased sleep duration is striving to better perform in professional and academic settings. As globalization intensifies competition, many people have to work longer hours or study harder to be on the top in their careers or education. For example, many students tend to late-night study to excel academically and professionals often sacrifice sleep and work late at night to meet deadlines.

Another significant factor contributing to reduce sleep are digital distraction such as smartphones, social media and streaming services. With the advent of internet people are constantly bombarded by information and entertainment which cause people staying up late and disrupt their natural sleep cycle. For instance, blue light emitted by phones or TV screen not only lead to disrupt natural sleep cycle but can also weaken vision over the time.

The effects of inadequate sleep can have serious consequences for both individual and society as a whole. On a personal level sleep deprivation can lead to physical and mental health issues, including obesity , diabetes, cardiovascular diseases, suppresses immune system, anxiety, and chronic stress. In addition, lack of proper rest can reduce cognitive function such as concentration, decision-making, memory and making it difficult to perform effectively in their jobs or studies and also increase in accidents and fatalities on the roads.

In conclusion, as awareness grows regarding the importance of sleep, it is crucial for individuals and communities to prioritize rest and create healthier lifestyle to reduce this harmful effects.