People sleep less than before in many countries. Why do people sleep less? What effect does it have on individuals and societies? Nowadays, the majority of people have devoted less time to sleeping than before. While this has several reasons it has impacts on both the individuals and the communities. This essay will explore some of these reasons and impacts of less sleeping.

One of the major causes of having less sleeping time is that people now tend to work for longer time that before. With the increased costs of the essential life expenses such as, house rent and utility bills which is increasing due to the inflation. People tend to work for extra time or even take two shifts per day leaving less time to rest. Another significant reasons is the increased distractions around people now than ever before. In other words, popularity streaming sites, for example, Netflix and Shahid VIP made people tend to watch a whole series of ten episodes in one night unlike before the TV programs were limited.

Lacking sleep will not only affect the humans, but it will also affect its communities. As for the individuals lack of sleeping would lead to health problems such as depression and anxiety which will put stress on the health care system of the countries. In addition to the negative impacts it will have on the employees’ performance on work therefore affecting the economy of the countries. Scientists proved that if employees have eight hours of sleep, they would be more productive.

In conclusion, disturbance of healthy sleeping resulted from the modern life style and stress on citizens to gain more money, which led to negative impacts on both individuals and their countries.