People sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? What are the effects on them?

Sleep is vital for our health. Previously people used to have plenty of time to sleep than today. In my opinion, the hectic lifestyle nowadays has affected our sleeping schedules significantly. I will discuss furthermore in this essay the causes & effects.

Working hours has recently increased exponentially. In job market, people are expected to go earlier and leave later than the standard hours, thus leaving less sleeping time . For instance, studies show that most junior doctors who work over 80 hours a week, actually sleep for average of 5 hours per day.

Moreover, fatigue is considered a direct effect of the reduced sleep time. The body needs enough rest to rejuvenate in order to function effectively the next day, hence lack of sleep equate to tiredness. For example, in my experience when I sleep lower than 5 hours, I tend to feel exhausted with low mental capacity to work or focus.

To sum up, individuals currently sleep less hours than the preceding years. Mainly due to work overload that often results in exhaustion. I believe that employers should facilitate adequate working hours for their employees and ensure that they have sufficient resting periods.