People these days watch TV, films and other programmes alone rather than with other people. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In this digital age, viewers of television, movies, and other relevant entertainment watch those alone. This essay aims to shed light on both the merits and demerits of this tendency before concluding that the former is more noticeable.

On the one hand, it is indisputable that time spent on broadcasting media individually can be disadvantageous to a certain extent. One significant repercussion relates to the inadequate family bonding, inherently hindering familial communication within homes. To elaborate further, this can lead individuals to feel mentally disconnected from family members. Another severe implication is the experience may become less fulfilling without someone to discuss with. As a specific instance, comedy shows or thrilling movies may seem less enjoyable without people to share thoughts about key moments.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned drawbacks of independent visual media experience, I am convinced that the benefits of this trend seem more noteworthy owing to a myriad of compelling reasons. The first rationale is the flexibility of choosing when and where to consume entertainment making this somehow convenient. This is further reinforced by the fact that hectic work and study schedules are inhibiting students or adults from devoting time to the lengthy activity of watching television. Another justification is the reality that managing time for this hobby can be best utilized when done alone. Since everyone has diverse content preferences, watching together can occasionally result in a waste of time on less interesting programs.

In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that spending time on television and film content can bring several drawbacks, I contend that the downsides pale in comparison with its upsides.