People these days watch TV, films and other programmes alone rather than with other people. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Watching movies and television programmes has been a popular family evening activity for decades. It is a great way to spend quality time with one’s closest, and it gives people (topic) they can later discuss and bond over. People who spend a sufficient amount of time with their family members are often calmer, collected, and ready to conquer the upcoming day. Having close-knit relationships with their loved ones also improves their mental health and teaches people about the importance of healthy relationships.

On the other hand, when people watch shows by themselves, they have the upper hand in picking their programme of choice. Individuals often appreciate this freedom, as there is no need to sit through a 3-hour documentary about penguins that their friend selected, which they have no interest in watching themselves. They also have the ability to choose their own pace, and therefore not have to hurry, or get dragged down by their companion. It is a great option and it is becoming increasingly popular for a reason.

Overall, watching with ones family offers companionship, shared interest and improvement of relationships, although I have to say I prefer solo watching, since I have the freedom to watch what I want, whenever I please. However, everyone prefers something else, and should pick what works for them.