People today are more concerned with owning material possessions than with developing friendships and family relationships. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the idea?

There are those in modern society who take the view that material things are more valuable than personal relationships. Their detractors, however, are concerned with good interaction with family and friends. Personally, I would say that obsession over material possessions grows annually, unfortunately. In this essay, I will discuss how consumer society negatively influences people and why I hold this viewpoint.

One of the primary factors is the impact of social media on humans’ behavior. Not only do individuals compare themselves there, but also they compete with a level of life and boast belongings. Moreover, the quantity and diversity of goods increase rapidly every year, and the prosperity of purchasers improves too every year worldwide. That makes more and more people want to buy something new, not always necessary and sometimes out of their budget. It seems that buyers measure their success through a prism of luxury possessions and neglect the value of human communication.

The aforementioned facts impact friendships and family relationships due to the fact that the process of earning money and income takes much effort and time. As a result, it leaves little room for social interactions. For example, nowadays, parents are obsessed with earning money and income for the newest gadgets and toys for their children instead of spending quality time with them, whereas youngsters feel loneliness and lack of love.

In conclusion, there is an increasing tendency in our society to overvalue wealth and material possessions more than developing friends’ and families’ interaction and connection. Social media and consumer society push to substitute belongings for success; furthermore, there is not much time for people to improve their relationships in their immediate circle. From my point of view, people should make more efforts to get out of this vicious cycle and stop overvaluing money and material possessions.