People today are more concerned with owning material possessions than with developing friendships and family relationships. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the idea?

The assertion that modern society prioritizes materialism over mutual connections between human beings is intriguing yet controversial since it raises various debates. It is undeniable that there is an increasing trend in possessing plenty of assets; however, it is also hard to agree that interpersonal relationships are diminishing.

First of all, there are reasons behind the growing consumerism in our society. Because of the digital age, people are more exposed to advertisements and marketing tricks than ever before. Therefore, they may end up being shopping addicts as they cannot resist the consecutive temptations of buying and owning new things. For instance, whenever a new version of the iPhone is released, thousands of people rush to get it, although they do not really need it. Moreover, this also creates a temporary satisfaction, which can be mistaken for permanent happiness.

However, the bonds between an individual and his or her family and friends still remain as the core of our well-being, despite how developed consumerism may become. Whether material or mental, friendships and family connections provide support that we can rely on, offering a sense of security and emotional stability that cannot be replaced by any possessions. Moreover, those relationships create happiness, which is an indispensable part of our lives. True contentment does not stem from accumulating wealth or goods, but from meaningful interactions and the love we share with others.

In conclusion, it is hasty to assume that people today are more concerned with owning material possessions than with developing friendships and family relationships. Although invisible, mutual connections have always nourished us with the emotional fulfillment that we cannot live without.