People today are more concerned with owning material possessions than with developing friendships and family relationships. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the idea?

Many individuals are of the opinion that there is a widespread tendency among people that they are becoming to be obsessed with materialism and impulsive shopping. Others, on the other hand, argue that contemporary humans are concentrating on improving relationships with their significant ones such as family, friends, etc. In this essay, I somewhat agree with the former statement and will provide the reasons for both agreement and disagreement with the prior one.

First and foremost, more and more individuals nowadays are being stressful with the expectations from their family as well as with the social prejudice about successful, where the elderly strongly believes that younger generations should possess their own real estate, car or even luxurious items right at the early ages to be considered as successful. While this norm is somehow less widespread than in the past, it still survives in many regions and being spread through social media at unprecedented pace, which unintentionally creates much more pressure on teenage people. This can be endorsed by the reality that more than 90% final-year and even penultimate-year students tend to work endlessly after their graduation to achieve the house before turning to 30 that helps satisfying the elder members in their family and somehow makes them temporarily feel confident.

On the contrary, maintaining the close relationships with friends and family members are still immensely essential for humans’ life, regardless of those short-termed happiness being brought from owning material possession. The reason is basically because of the assistance in terms of mental well-being and the ability to bring happiness in the long run. Meanwhile, allocating weekend time on meeting and shooting the breeze with friends and family will then, in a long term, contribute to a work-life balance in a daily routine. However, both tangible possessions and relationships are equally important that we should strike a balance between working and outing.

In the bottom line, while i accept that the tendency of being obsessed with success by owning tangible estates are somehow acceptable, I firmly believe that people should come up with any potential solutions to balance their time for both business and relationships.