People visiting other countries should adapt to the customs and behaviours expected there. They should not expect the host country to welcome different customs and behaviours. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A notable phenomenon is that an increasing number of people enjoy visiting other countries during their vacations. While some argue that travelers should adapt to the local culture, I support the view that visitors do not need to embrace all the customs of the places they visit.

Admittedly, adapting to local customs and behaviors can help individuals deepen their understanding of the local culture, making it easier for them to integrate into the local community and build friendships. Furthermore, this can be beneficial over time. Actively adapting to the local culture improves individuals’ ability to adapt to unfamiliar environments, which requires the development of open-mindedness. As a result, this brings benefits in both their professional and personal lives in the long run.

Nevertheless, this form of adaptation is not always beneficial. If the adaptation to the local culture is misunderstood or carried out incorrectly, it can easily result in negative consequences, such as social embarrassment or even social conflict. Such outcomes are generally undesirable. In addition, it is also necessary to consider how attention is allocated. If people invest too much time in adapting to the local culture, they may have less time for more meaningful pursuits, such as enjoying their trip and the scenery, which runs counter to the original purpose of travelling.

In conclusion, I would argue that respecting and adapting to local culture has evident negative effects on trip experience and may result in social risk. Society should encourage people to focus on the trip itself rather than spend too much time on less central things.