Plagiarism in academics has become a pressing problem in many countries today. What are the causes of this problem? What are some possible solutions?

Currently, education in many countries are facing an extremely crucial issue: plagiarism. This important issue can led into more significant problems like decreasing quality of the graduates and normalization of academic cheating in the campus. Because of that, this problem is needs to be solved.

Plagiarism occured, because of the incompetency of the student to solved their own problem and lack of surveilence from the campus. Sometimes, this phenomenon happen because the students are too lazy to put some work to do some research activity. If this phenomenon continue, the competency level of the graduates will be decreased and it can effect their capability to work (because competency is very important at work). Also, if the campus don’t take some acts immediately, the students will normalize this act because there is no any consequences.

To solve this problem, campus can start from the selection stage of the students. By including on the spot essay and psychology test in the entrance exam, hopefully these can asses student candidates capability to write and criminal tendencies. Using advanced technology like plagiarism detector, also can help lecturer to prevent plagiarism to be occured. Reasonable punishments also needed to give consequences to the students who cheated. Consequences like lower grade, falling a course, or even expulsion are needed to give deterrent effects to the perpetrator.

In conclusion, plagiarism happen because of incapability of the students and lack of control from the universities. Because of that, selection and control need to be strengthened to prevent plagiarism.