Plant and animal diversity is declining around the world. Why is this happening? Why is this a problem?

Declining biodiversity is one of the most imperative issues we are facing nowadays, which is driven by several factors, including shrinking of habitats, environmental problems, and poaching. If necessary measures are not taken immediately, this negative development will lead to fatal consequences.

There are a number of reasons for the destruction of biodiversity, the major among them being an uncontrolled deforestation. The human population is growing exponentially, which results in more need for agricultural land. Consequently, people encroach pristine environmental places and disrupt the ecological balance to cultivate crops and build more apartment blocks as well as entertainment places for themselves. In addition, logging operations conducted for obtaining wood for paper and other materials contribute to the animals’ and plants’ habitats being shrunken. Apar from that, environmental problems such as global warming and climate change result in certain animal and plant species becoming endangered. In other words, it is difficult for animals and plants to adapt to changes in climate they were used to living in. Finally, illegal hunting is another cause of a biodiversity loss and governments should adopt stricter laws and regulations to mitigate the adverse consequences of this trend described below.

The implifications loss of plant and animal species cause are serious, posing a great threat to people as well as flora and fauna. To start with, once a particular species is lost, it never cannot be brought back, which in turn, will lead to our medical researches and development of treatments getting affected. In this case, animal testing and the use of plants in creating medicaments will be impossible. One of the last adverse consequences is that diversity of plants and animals is crucial for human health in terms of food and health care. Consequently, biodiversity loss will have a negative impact on people’s health.

Taking every factor into account, it is crucial to implement some immediate measures in preventing the situation from further deterioration.