Plastic bags, plastic bottles, and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

There is no doubt that plastic products that individuals use for carrying and wrapping have a detrimental effect on the environment. It deteriorates not only the ecosystem but is also hazardous for other species and human beings. By using alternate materials for products and ceasing the use of plastic, we can make our future secure. We will discuss these here.

Primarily, plastic is difficult to dispose of, if dumped then it will reduce the fertility of arable land and while burning it releases toxins in the environment that causes pollution. In addition, many species of seabirds and aquatic animals are on the edge of extinction and a number of these were extinct in the past because oceans are full of plastic waste. It causes health issues and cancer people eat infected sea food because today, plastic particles could be found in fishes, birds and other animals, and it disrupts the entire ecosystem.

To solve this alarming and perilous situation, it is imperative for policymakers to bring strict laws and regulations. Even governments need to disseminate awareness regarding the use of plastic and motivate them toward the use of biodegradable materials such as fabric bags, cardboard, glass bottles, and stainless-steel bottles. Moreover, individuals can help the government by supporting their ideas and eliminating the use of plastic from their daily life.

Culmination, Plastic is the only material which has a negative impact on the environment and which people use in excess due to the fact that it is cheaply available. I think everyone needs to acknowledge that by banning plastic we can make this world better and the government should punish those who infringe the laws.