Plastic waste is polluting oceans and harming marine life. What are the causes of plastic pollution, and what effects does it have on ecosystems?

Nowadays, Plastic pollution is one of the most pressing issues in today’s fast-evolving world. This issue is primary driven by several chief causes, such as excessive use of plastic bottles and the absence of efficient waste management systems. It also has a negative impact on not only society but also marine life.

The leading factors that pose this problem are utilization of plastic goods and durability of plastics. Firstly, the foremost cause is the widespread use of single-used plastic items, such as bottles and bags. These products are carelessly discarded into oceans and seas, which is a key contributor of this issue. Furthermore, the decomposition of plastic takes hundreds of years, exacerbating the situation. Another significant factor is the improper disposal of plastic waste. For example, in developing countries, due to the lack of waste management systems, the large quantities of litter are disposed of into rivers, seas and oceans.

The presence of plastic on a daily base poses some challenges, affecting ecosystem as a whole, especially marine life. Above all, many animals mistake plastic debris for food, ingesting it either directly or through organisms that have already consumed it, resulting in some negative ramifications, including malnutrition, poisoning and death. For instance, sea turtles are one of the greatest examples of marine life who are known to ingest plastic, obstructing their digestive systems. Additionally, it threatens biodiversity, which can lead to the degradation of marine habitats, contributing negatively to global food security.

To sum up, inadequate disposal of waste and widespread utilization of plastic items are the central reasons for plastic pollution. The likely outcomes of this epidemic are devastating, as it harms wildlife and has a contribution to reduced food security.