Poaching is a persistent problem in many countries. What are the causes of the rise in poaching? What are the effects of this practice?

It is true that many countries have faced poaching problems in the long term. From my perspective, there are two main reasons that lead to an increase in the poached rates: poverty and absence of proper regulation. In addition, this practice also causes detrimental effects such as depleting biodiversity, threatening social stability.

According to the reasons for increasing poaching, one of those is poverty. In underdeveloped countries, individuals who do not have enough financial conditions to make ends meet, are prone to poaching of high-value wildlife species which can bring money and support themselves or even their family. Additionally, the lack of strict management also makes the problems more serious. Due to weak supervision and enforcement, hunters or traders become little fear of punishment and implement more frequently.

As for the repercussions of this practice, firstly, it is a rapid decline in biodiversity. More illegal exploitation occurs, more endangered species vanish that lead to unbalance of the food chain and loss of other dependent species. As a result, it weakens ecosystem stability and reduces biological richness. Moreover, poaching can undermine social stability by encouraging corruption, illegal trade networks. These interest groups then used profits to fund other illicit activities, which weakens law enforcement and community trust, leading to social unrest.

In conclusion, the two major reasons for increasing poaching are lack of financial conditions and poor regulations, whilst the impacts of this problem are decrease of biodiversity and instability of society.