Poaching is a persistent problem in many countries. What are the causes of the rise in poaching? What are the effects of this practice?

Animals play an integral role in the ecosystems of our planet. However, many nations have to face the alarming poaching issues. From my perspective, I believe that the economic demands and country’s identity are the primary factors leading to this rise while the disruption of ecological balance is the negative impact.

To begin with, wildlife trading has been a fertile market where millions of dollars transactions between the wealthy class and poachers happen. Especially in this day and age where more new-money classes are borned and materialistic lifestyles are common, owning rare wildlife products could reflect financial stability, thus enhancing their confidence. Obviously, the higher demand in this market would encourage more people to become poachers as it helps them make a living. For instance, there was a misunderstanding that ivory and rhino horn could improve an individual’s health expotentially and even cure cancer, which pushed the prices exorbitantly due to the exploding needs. Furthermore, in some nations, decorating houses with animals’ body parts for beliefs and spiritually is a tradition because it symbolizes money attraction.

On the other hand, the increase in wildlife animal trading has detrimental implications on biodiversity and tourism. Overreaching causes a rapid decline in the number of species, pushing endangerment to the verse of extinction and disrupting the ecological balance. When it comes to some countries that are known for their diverse ecosystems, this issue affects tourism strongly parallel with economic loss.

In conclusion, the rise in wildlife hunting is driven by econimic demands and cultural beliefs, leading to the risks of extinctions and disrupting the ecological balance.