Politicians should take more responsibility for preventing and solving global environmental problems, because individuals can do very little. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that governments, rather than individuals, should be held accountable for solving global environmental disruptions. From my perspective, I strongly agree with this viewpoint since politicians possess a more impactful decision-making power.

On the one hand, governments are major administrators who are responsible for game-changing decisions. It is well known that the governmental authority of setting the legal framework for businesses and establishing environmental laws and regulations is the key to solving environmental challenges. By utilizing regulatory interference, governments are able to compel businesses to act more environmentally and socially responsive instead of prioritizing financial benefits. This includes controlling the greenhouse gas emission and waste from industrial production, therefore directly mitigate the overall environmental pollution.

On the other hand, governments can mobilize communities for collective action to make a significant impact. Although the populace may care for the environment, their isolated efforts have limited impact. As a result, a clear legal framework and government-leading guidelines make it easier for individuals to collectively adopt green actions. Since individuals are able to follow unified regulations such as carbon taxes and waste separation guides, their efforts accumulate and contribute to mitigating environmental damages.

To conclude, governments should be majorly responsible for tackling environmental issues. It is advisable that politicians take effective actions to sustain our environment.