Politicians should take more responsibility for preventing and solving global environmental problems, because individuals can do very little. Do you agree or disagree?

It is thought that in order to combat major global issues, politicians should take more responsibility because individual actions are insignificant. While normal folks are the majority, however, they account for little impact. Therefore I believe policymakers should hold the wheel to mitigate the climate crisis.

It makes sense to think individuals are the majority and their actions can hugely impact on environmental issues. For example, by changing fossil-used vehicles to more eco-friendly alternatives, it could have a profound impact on cutting down carbon emissions. However, that action might be insignificant compared to activities from big companies and state-owned enterprises, which emit a huge amount of carbon emissions each year, leading to an increase in the global temperatures. Not to mention individuals might lack useful tools to combat the climate crisis, but they are completely dependent on policymakers to implement new changes and legislations. And without those tools individuals might not be able to mitigate global issues. As a result, politicians are expected to address major global issues.

Even political figures are the minority but they hold tremendous influence over the masses. They can implement policies related to environmental problems such as banning overexploitation and pouring toxic chemicals from big cooperations, who are greatly responsible for climate change. If these policies were implemented, top carbon emitters would be forced to shift toward more sustainable development such as renewable energy resources instead of fossil fuels. That would ultimately help reduce carbon emissions and prevent rising global temperatures.

Also, not only political figures have the means to address global issues they can greatly influence individuals through the media and education systems. As a result, these actions help raise social awareness about current global issues among the masses and shift society towards more eco-friendly developments.

In conclusion, while individual actions are invaluable they can only help mitigate climate change with the help of authorities.