Pollution and environmental damage are inevitable as a country becomes richer and more developed. Do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes believed that when a country becomes wealthier and more modernized, it might easily lead to pollution and environmental damage. This essay entirely agrees with this suggestion for several reasons.

The first argument supporting my opinion is that the richer and more modernized the nation, the more infrastructure required to accommodate housing and work needs. This often leads to the clearing of forest land for construction, negatively impacting on the environment . For instance, about 60% of the Amazon rainforest is located in Brazil. However, the large portion of it is being cleared for infrastructure projects such as apartments, skyline towers, highways. This is one of the key factors causing wild animals and plants in these areas to lose their habitat, replacing them at risks of endangerment and posing threats to ecological environment

Another point behind my belief is that a more and more developed country could be an appealing destination for immigrants. The growth of population can lead to the increase of transport including private and public. The rise of vehicles can release a significant amount of emissions, directly contributing to the air pollution and severely impacting the living environment. In fact, Beijing city, one of the richest cities in China, attracts people from rural provinces and foreign countries to study and work. The blooming population in this city makes it one of the most air polluted cities in the world, with alarmingly high fine dust levels. Transportation has been identified as one of the contributors to poor air quality in the city. Despite government efforts to reduce emissions by promoting electric vehicles and adopting stricter regulations, it remains largely unchanged in improving the air quality

In conclusion, I strongly agrees that it is unavoidable for a nation advancing in richer and more developed to play role a in causing pollution and environmental damage given the aforementioned argument