“Prevention is better than cure “. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree?

The adage “prevention is better than cure” resonates with profound significance, as preventing any disease before getting sick is more beneficial than having medications to treat it. It has been reckoned that it would be more cost-effective to invest in preventive approaches rather than costly research and therapy for any newly discovered ailments. This essay will articulate my wholehearted agreement with this prognosis, and will share the testaments in subsequent paragraphs.

Investigating and treating illnesses incur high costs, as it includes medicinal development, lab tastings and healthcare facilities or equipment. To expound, treatment of some diseases such as cancer, heart problems and many other requires higher financial budgets, which has escalated expenses of healthcare’s worldwide. If government make investments on some awareness campaigns that will help people to learn about different preventive measures, and promoting healthy lifestyle, it may offer cost-effective strategy to reduce incurable ailments. Most developed nation, for example, fosters awareness campaigns to educate their natives about having healthy meals and doing regular exercise, which may help them to boost their immune system and better combat illness. This not only reduce the burden on hospitals, but also save time and money of individuals. Thus, incorporating protective measures are more cost saving than researching and treating diseases, and it can be done easily just by making few daily life changes.

Preventive approaches provide a far higher chance of curing any condition without requiring large medical center expenditures. To further solidify my argument, various organizations such as world health organization (WHO) claimed that taking vaccinations suggested by health practitioner according to different age levels will help to reduce the chances of getting infectious diseases such as smallpox, polio and covid flu. To cite an example, many countries, these days, have provided flu-shots in medical centres to give to their patients, which people can take to reduce the chances of having flu such as cough, cold and fever that also become an infectious disease since the time of coronavirus. Hence, immunization and prevention play a vital role in curing illnesses without even spending large amounts on purchasing a lot of medicines and in hospitals.

To recapitulate, I wholeheartedly agree that prevention is better than cure. While research and treatments can be important to combat some diseases, taking preventive measures are way more potent in terms of curing it inexpensively. The more the person incorporate healthy lifestyle such as proper diet, regular exercise and getting vaccine shots time-to-time, the more are the chances to cure ailments in a cheaper way.