Prison is an effective punishment for people who commit crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s rapidly evolving world, it is widely regarded that prison is an effective punishment for people who break the law. I wholeheartedly agree with this viewpoint, as I believe it presents significant advantages that far outweigh any potential drawbacks. This essay will delve into these advantages in depth while also considering some opposing perspectives.

One key justification for my support of prison is that it offers an understanding of mistakes as well as an opportunity to start a new life. Prison gives time who break the law to realize their mistake. Giving time in prison can tackle the crime rate. Therefore, many governments have implemented this rule to decrease the rate of criminals, especially in China and Japan. If we examine the data of 2023, giving a time decrease the crime rate of around 30%. By the same token, it is paramount to address a new life. After realizing the mistake in prison, the government gives them an opportunity to start a new life. The government provides them with not only jobs but also houses and huge amounts of money which allows them to start a new life. Therefore, the prison is an effective punishment for people who break the law. To illustrate, in the UK, if criminals realize their mistakes the UK government gives them a second chance to give pleasure from life’s beauty.

It is fair to admit that prison disrupts people’s neuroplasticity system which increases the crime rate and leads to more innocent people’s early deaths. In 2000, the crime rate increased and 30.000 innocent individuals were killed by criminals after came out from prison in the USA. Therefore, the government implemented a new home detention to save criminals’ neuroplasticity system in their brains.

In conclusion, while both standpoints offer strong arguments, based on my experience, I am of the opinion that prison offers the most substantial value, making it the superior choice for individuals.