Prison is an effective punishment for people who commit crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that prison is effective way to punish criminals. Although prisons contribute in social safety, I cannot fully agree, as there are some drawbacks of prisons.

On the one hand, incarceration plays an important role in ensuring public safety and discouraging individuals from committing a crime. It is necessary to keep criminals or violent offenders behind bar to prevent further harm. Moreover, the fear of losing freedom may deter people from committing a crime, as they will be aware of consequences. Thus, prison contributes on public stability and safety, removing offenders from society

On the other hand, prison can negatively effect on first-offenders. The offenders who incarcerated for minor violent may worsen of after return to society, as they have been living in violent environment among criminals, who may negatively impact on their perspectives. This is why prison can be breeding ground for reoffenders. Thus, instead of prison, criminals can have rehabilitation programs or pay fee, which can be more beneficial.

In conclusion, while incarcerations stabilize society, I believe that prison not always can be the best choice to punish criminals.