Prison is the best punishment for criminals. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Nowadays, crime has been on the rise in many parts of the world usually reported in various social networks platforms.Some people, are for the opinion that law breakers should be locked behind bars, incase found guilty.I agree with the statement.This essay, will discuss on the importance of jailing the offenders.

To commence, jailing offenders significantly reduce crime rate.Individuals who are convicted guilty are put behind bars and separated from the society.For instance, rapists, murderous and petty thieves are examples of offenders in Dubai. That country has practiced, locking these law breakers behind bars and crime rates very reported are low. This compared to the years where insecurities were quite high because they used to fine those law offenders .Moreover, prisons can be compared to a learning institution for wrongdoers .Several cells offer courses that engage them during the reform period. By this I mean that, activities like driving, electrical engineering and cookery are the major program offered .In Kenya, for example the project has been used for many years to reform thieves .Statistics published in the prisons website in that country , review that many of the criminals reformed positively because of those engagements .This is unlike before ,whereby the evildoers repeated the same mistakes after serving their sentence , because the learning was not available.

On the contrary, detachment with the family members is a major concern .These individuals are separated from their loved ones and many are affected and end up being depressed .By this I mean that, criminals serve a certain number of years in jail .For example in Rwanda murders are sentenced to 10 years in case they are found guilty of murder .An interview done involving those who were set free in the same country reviewed that , most of them could not locate their families and this was a concern to them.

In conclusion, sentencing the wrongdoers and keeping them in jail, reduce crime rate and assist people reform through the courses offered . However, most of the convicted are affected due to family members separation.