Professional sports often involve sponsorship deals and commercialization. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With the proliferation of globalization, the participation of professional athletes in advertisements and donations has become one of the most contentious debates. This trend offers several benefits like promoting company’ products, whereas I believe that its downsides, including encouraging unhealthy goods and being interrupted by these actions surpasses its advantages.

From a pessimistic standpoint, well-known sports people lay a solid foundation for encouraging detrimental products to society. If professional athletes advertise harmful products, they can pose a serious threat for ordinary individuals’ lives. Messi who is the ambassador of Pepsi, for instance, is likely to threaten numerous numbers of world population since most types of energetic beverages include toxic substances like nicotine. As a consequence, 20-22% Pepsi consumers complain with a wide range of health disorders such as blood sugar, small step of heart attack and so on.

Another argument worth mentioning is how harmful it is to become a sponsorship for athletes. Many players are distracted from their performance because of advertising promotion. This, in turn, leads to low performance during the game, which can be disadvantageous for a promising sports career. In other words, they engage less in their own sports fields when they are ambassadors of certain brands. The less they participate in sports, the faster they become physically vulnerable in the long run.

In conclusion, even though the role of high-profile athlete people in commercialization can be a great help to the company’s status, I still believe that the encouragement of harmful products and being distracted can overshadow its significant aspects.