Prompt: Schools are spending more time teaching traditional subjects such as history. Some people think they should rather spend more time teaching skills that can help students find a job. To what extent do you agree or disagree? (Đề thi đề nghị Olympic DHBB năm 2021-2022 THPT Chuyên Hoàng Văn Thụ)

In this rapidly changing society, the idea of teaching conventional subjects such as history in school curriculum has attracted growing attention from both experts and the public. While this trend is highly beneficial, some people contend that job-finding-related skills are far more important. After weighing both sides of the argument, I partly agree with the given statement as it might diminish the solid foundation of our community.

On the one hand, practical skills that can support students in their career are undeniably indispensable, especially in nowadays competitive world. Firstly, teaching skills such as advanced mathematics, communication and problem-solving can equip young learners with both sufficient academic and social knowledge before joining the labour market, where lately asks for candidates with a variety of capabilities. To illustrate, global technology corporations such as Microsoft and Google usually evaluate and select employees based on a description involving both excellent scholastic records and abundant hands-on experience. Therefore, adding school lessons that include teaching skills that can help students find a job may greatly increase students’ competence in pursuing their dream career. Secondly, teaching handy proficiency can strike a balance in educational environments, preventing students and parents from overfocusing on scores. To be specific, as usable skills are introduced into the formal curriculum, not only can young students raise their real-world qualifications for job finding, but they also have relaxing moments when collaboration is prioritized over grades, thereby spaced recharging during days attending repetitive activities in learning.

On the other hand, traditional subjects such as history still play an irreplaceable role. A noteworthy point is that these subjects are the reminders of cultural diversity and victorious moments, contributing to remaining national pride and identity in this rapid integration period. By gaining understanding related to historical events, students can comprehend valuable lessons from the past, which are crucial in protecting national sovereignty. For example, Ho Chi Minh President had summarized a wide range of experience from failure of the seniors before successfully freeing Vietnam from the colonization of France and America. Moreover, exposure to historic patterns consolidate students’ knowledge of their origin and family roots. As young learners are inspired to explore history milestones during their history lessons, they are likely to dig deep into the activities and lifestyles of their ancestors, hence staying independent and wise in this increasingly complex society.

To sum up, it is my reaffirmation that while practical qualifications bring about hands-on experience and real competence in the labour market, conventional subjects help maintain cultural diversity. Therefore, schools should emphasize both fields to balancely mould students’ understanding base.