Public libraries should provide books and not waste their limited resources on expensive high-tech media such as software, videos or Dvds. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that public libraries should not waste their limited funds on installment of technology in the premises, and should focus only on providing books. This essay completely disagrees with this statement. With advancement in technology, many individuals prefer different modes of learning and many a times textbooks do not have adequate information.

To begin with, various people have different learning styles, some prefer reading, others might prefer listening or watching. Students have different needs to grasp information, for example, few enjoy learning through youtube. Additionally, their are few topics which could be better understood by watching videos, for instance, human bones and organs. Hence, making these things available at libraries makes it more beneficial for learners.

Apart from that, their is no denial that the books play a crucial role in education, but a number of books are often outdated and do not provide up-to-date data, which is a major issue faced by the learners as well as the educators. Old edition of books have less or wrong information which cannot meet their goals, for instance, medicals students always need latest information which can only be met by Internet. Furthermore, many students need internet to complete their assignments. Thus, a variety of resources, like high- tech are necessary in these locations.

To conclude, undoubtedly books are a significant contributor in our life, however, in recent times, need for softwares have tremendously increased. I believe diverse learning methods can aid in better understanding and will make education easy to access. However, higher authorities should focus on all segments, including books.