Public libraries should provide books and not waste their limited resources on expensive high-tech media such as software, videos or Dvds. Do you agree or disagree?

It is suggested that community libraries should use their funds on hard-copied books instead of improving their highly costly technology. In this age, technology should keep up with the modern ways of learning. Therefore, this essay disagrees that public reading facilities should allocate their resources to manage books rather than technology. Firstly, online libraries are useful and convenient. Secondly, certain individuals learn better visually through photos and videos.

In this era, with the growing rate of technology, people are able to access vast amounts of information on various topics through online libraries in the comfort of their own home. Not many individuals have the time to travel to libraries. It is also not guaranteed that there will be a seat for them as local libraries are usually always packed. Digital libraries not only undoubtedly provide them convenience but also extra time to manage other tasks efficiently. For instance, research shows, students who source their information online are able to tackle their tasks better on time.

Controversially, reading isn’t always effective for everyone. Therefore, libraries that provide computers would be much more inclusive of the general public. People who are diagnosed with intellectual disorders such as dyslexia cannot comprehend or read like a neurotypical person. For instance, research shows, dyslexic people are able to grasp contents better visually and audibly. Furthermore, reading can be a tedious task, especially when it involves long passages. Thus, studying would be effective through videoclips and pictures.

In conclusion, community libraries are better off investing their resources on technological facilities instead of traditional hard-copied books as digital libraries are proven to be advantageous and the fact that some people attain information better through videoclips and photographs. To further accommodate the general public, community reading facilities are recommended to provide both online access and computers.