Public libraries will soon stop existing in physical spaces because all resources, including books, will be accessible online to everyone. What are the advantages and disadvantages of public libraries existing only online? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a popular opinion that soon enough all public libraries will stop functioning with the general trend of making all the books digital. Although people mostly believe this is not an acceptable trend, there are not only drawbacks but also some pleasant sides to this story and in this essay I will try to explain both sides of the matter.

Probably one of the best things that making all reading resources online is how much more less expensive and free to access educational materials will be. It often does not occur to people that not everyone can have access to a public library and people who live in smaller town need to commute relatively long distances to get to a big city where such libraries can be found and this can be quiet expensive by itself. With publishing everything online anyone with access to internet, which actually can be find even in smaller villages, can have full access to any learning material. This makes the experience of all people who are motivated to learn and read way better.

Talking about the drawbacks of going fully online, I believe that the main thing to be conserned about is that people will start communicating less between each other. When you are in the same physical space with other people trying to read or study, it is likely that you will find others with the same interest as you which can not only lead to interesting conversations but also friendships in which you can help each other not only to achieve your goals but also just to share your thoughts freely with one another. Although communicating online is an viable option, for someone it may be harder to find the courage to chat with a random person when you are not able to talk to them face-to-face.

To conclude, as a result of the new trend of making every resource online the physical existence of a public library will soon become unlikely. As a result of this people will have a harder time to find another person with similar thoughts, but at the same time with everything available online it will be drastically easier to have access to reading and educational materials.