Public transport should be funded by the government so that it can be free for people who use it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary era, the free of cost public transportation is the need of an hour. Reason being the increasing traffic congestion, air pollution and sky rocketed rate of Petrol and Diesel. I firmly believe that authorities should not charge a single penny from the individuals for using railways and buses. This essay will examine my view point in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, the worth mentioning reason for agreeing with the aforementioned statement is curb on environmental degradation. Today’s generation especially urban residents are dependent on their personal conveyance as it is more convenient to them for travel to their office or any other place. However, this results in more carbon emission. As a result, it adds harmful pollutants in the air. Also, using free of cost public transportation will ultimately leads to reduction in usage of private vehicle, almost negligible carbon emission and air pollution. For Instance, In Metropolitan cities like Delhi and Mumbai, most of the residents use Metro as their primary mode of transportation. However, when there will be no charge on the tickets, the number of people using it will automatically maximize to almost 100% as it will be accessible by even for lower middle class or below poverty line individuals.

Probing ahead with another point, zero cost public transportation will not only beneficial for the environment but also for the individuals. They do not have to spend plenty of money on purchasing car as public conveyance will be available for them for their convenience. Moreover, no need to spend on fuel as it is government responsibility, no pressure of car or any other vehicle maintenance. Therefore, it is a good deal for the folks. In addition, more usage of public vehicle means less traffic congestion which is one of the biggest concerns nowadays.

To conclude, I believe it will be the best decision of the government officials as making the vehicles free for public means drastically drop in environmental pollution and traffic congestion. As I mentioned in the above paragraphs, all these factors are related to each other. However, authorities should take necessary action on increasing the number of public vehicles so that it can be accessible by the country’s residents.