Public transport should be funded by the government so that it can be free for people who use it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that governments ought to ensure free public transport for all residents. I agree with this statement to a certain extent. While I agree that free public transport can aid people who live in poor conditions, I disagree that if public transport is provided for free, it can impact the economic growth of country.

On the one hand, public transport can assist people, especially elderly people. The primary reason is that older people do not work for earning money and they may struggle with financial issues. For instance, in our country the rate of poverty is increasing day by day. Furthermore, older people can spend their money on their medicines or daily products instead of using it for transportation. Therefore, I believe that free public transport can help people save their money for necessary things.

On the other hand, I disagree that free public transport has a profound impact on economy. This is mainly because if governments spend their money on public vehicle, they would not distribute money on necessary things such as infrastructure. For example, nowadays, the amount of electricity is declining and it is depriving. As a consequence, many people cannot work effectively. That is why I am convinced that free public transport can affect all things.

To sum up, I partly agree that governments provide free public transport for all citizens. Although it has clear benefits, there are also some drawbacks. In my opinion, public transport should be affordable for all people.