Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children? To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is true to say that learning the difference between right and wrong at a very young age is vital for children. Therefore, some people argue the necessity of punishment to help them learn this deviation. However, I completely disagree with any arguments that support the benefits of punishment in teaching children the right attitude.

First of all, a punishment-based education system is outdated, and its ineffectiveness has been proved by numerous studies. Moreover, the negative consequences of this teaching method, such as stress, anxiety, and low self-esteem, lead to depression in the long-term perspective. Therefore, the modern education system is encouraging non-punitive methods and developing psychological support institutions. There is also an increasing societal demand to move away from old-fashioned pedagogical models. A good example is that many countries have outlawed corporal punishment due to concerns about child rights. In this way, ineffective education methods should be superseded by modern and comprehensive approaches.

Additionally, one of the best methods of teaching children good behavior is to set a positive example. Children are naturally curious and tend to copy the behavior of adults. Therefore, by demonstrating model behavior, such as kindness, respect, and good manners, people instill right behavior in children. For instance, if you tell your children to be honest, but they routinely see you telling lies, they will inevitably learn that lying is acceptable. That’s why it is more important to demonstrate good behavior rather than punishing child’s faults.

In conclusion, it can be said, that despite the necessity of instilling good behavior in children at an early age, punishment cannot provide the required outcome. I believe that non-punitive and gentle methods are rational.