Q. Some people think that technological progress is harmful to social relationships. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that technological advancement causes harm to social relationships. I concur with this view because although technology contributes to world wide connection and communication, digital communication often replaces face-to-face contacts that are significant to our lives and encourages superficial social connection.

First of all, technological progress such as mobile phones or Social Networking Services,are invented and introduced to the public, many people tend to utilise these tools as a means of communication. This has benefits, such as being able to contact friends and family from anywhere in the world, making communication seamless. However, the downside of this is that you do not get physical contact with other people unless you act proactively. This is a vital factor, although many would consider it not, due to the fact that humans are naturally social animals. Humans need face-to-face interactions with other humans in order to live a healthier life.

Additionally, technological advancements may lead to relationships between friends and family becoming shallower. Many students after they graduate school tend to lose contact with their friends and not contact them for decades. Because technological development makes human relationships so hassle-free and nonchalant, people are prone to care less about their interactions with others. It does not help that these technologies also make meeting new people significantly easier. Although this does lead to meeting new people and new friendships, since there are so many people using these technologies, even if you start new relationships you have to manage the size of your social circle which will discourage some people to give up human relationships as a whole.

In conclusion, although there are merits such as the convenience and the nonchalance that technological advancements bring, the disadvantages including the lack of in-person interactions and the need to manage relationships outweigh the benefits.