Q. These days, more fathers stay at home and take care of their children, while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays females are shifting their role to be breadwinner, while males have a tendency to take care of their children and manage household chores staying at home. There are might be some reason like gender equality and globalization, while I believe it is a positive development.

There are two main factors that contribute this trend. Firstly, our society has become more open to gender equity, thus making women freer to pursue qualification and continue career path. In today’s developed world, flexibility and emotional intelligence are highly valued in most prestigious positions rather than physical strength, bringing more opportunities for women to good job prospects. Such chances assist females to be a breadwinner in their family role as well mutual agreement with their partner. In addition, in globalized world many traditions and traditional stereotypes are fading due to a substantial effect of social media. Househusbands are sharing their caregiving responsibility daily on renown modes of apps, such as Instagram, YouTube, TikTok, Facebook, vanishing social criticism on such roles. Therefore, parents are choosing their roles in the family, after taking into consideration not only qualification, but also financial aspects.

Such positive shift has some benefits for both parents and children. Males should not bare to considerable pressure from work deadlines or authoritarian managers to support their families anymore, if their partners have sufficiently finance. As a result, they can spend more time with their loved ones as they are rising child without an external criticism. Moreover, this role not only reflects modern values, but also strengthens father-child relationship, influencing child’s emotional and physical aspects, such as self-confidence, leadership, resilience. Several studies suggest that active father involvement can positively influence children’s emotional and cognitive development.

In conclusion, shift role fathers from supporting family financially to taking responsibility of rising children have some reasons like gender equity or advancement of technology. In my view, it has positive affects to alleviate work-related pressure on fathers and strengthens father-child bonds, if it handles sufficiently.