Q. These days, more fathers stay at home and take care of their children, while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent years, it has become far more normal for men to staying at home for take care to their children as their wife are working. In my opinion, while there are certain reasons behind them, overall this is a negative development.

On the one hand, nowadays, the number of employment opportunities which have high salary available to women has increased considerably. Mothers can not bring their children to work, so there is always be someone to look after children. Hiring nanny can not be ideal option to this problem all the time because not all of them take care of children well. Thus, staying fathers at home to provide childcare would be perfect solution. In addition, since males have physical limitations that prevent them from working, their wives need to work. In this case, fathers have to take all responsibilities at home such as to look after children and household chores.

However, I believe this trend has more negative effects. there are some areas that require more strength such as construction of buildings, since women are physically weak, the productivity decrease in community. Furthermore, men are not good enough at care for children and household chores because some children are very young especially at the breastfeeding period. I believe this trend has more negative effects. Moreover, fathers may lose valuable work experience by staying at home for a long time. This can make it difficult for them to return to the job market in the future.

In conclusion, even though financial reasons and health problems can cause fathers to stay at home, I consider it to be a negative development overall.