Question: Some people believe that children should be taught to be competitive in school. Others believe that cooperation and teamwork are more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Although it is sometimes thought that schools ought to teach the pupil competition, other people believe that the focus should be on building cooperation mentality among them. In my opinion, I consider that competition helps children learn the most important skill for their future.

On the one hand , some people think that children who learn to compete against each other often do better in school and I agree.

In other words, the competition between students motivates them to excel their studies or tasks, which consequently produce better academic performances and results. For example, students generally apply themselves and work harder when they are in direct competition with their classmates. Furthermore, being driven to achieve the best is vital in order to earn success in later life when, as adults, they must compete against each others in the job market.

On the other hand, it is often believed that it is better if the school emphasizes mutual support among the aspirants. As human, we do not live and work apart from others and without this skill we will be failed to make proper communication with other people resulting poor confrontation of conflicts. Another reason why team skills are essential for children is that they can learn how to negotiate to complete a task. Hence, this is obviously an important deft for the future.

In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinion, I think that children can get a better chance to be succeeded both in the academic and later life if they are encouraged to compete with each other.