Question: Some people believe that it is a good idea that older people continue to work if it is possible for them to do. Do you agree or disagree?

Working after traditional retirement age is deemed to be excellent if they are still capable to continue. I agree with this given argument for a couple of sound reasons.

One important reason why elderly people should be encouraged to remain in employment is that working environment gives them a sense of purpose and fulfillment. In detail, many retirees experience feelings of loneliness and boredom after leaving their job. Continuing to work allows them to socialize and build a network with colleagues. For example, in many developed countries older people continue to work until younger generation acquired enough qualifications to obtain the position. In addition, staying professionally engaged can help older adults keep their minds active, which may contribute to better both mental and physical health.

Another significant point is that older workers possess valuable knowledge, skills, and experience which may lack in younger ones. To be more precise, many professions require a great deal of time to be master at that domain and experience which can only be gained by solid dedication. Most of the older employees become part of the company. Working at new environment demands time to adjust, that is the main reason why many organizations prefer old elderly worker rather than young ones. For example, experienced teachers, doctors, and engineers can mentor younger colleagues and contribute significantly to the revolution of their companies. Consequently, businesses and society can benefit from their expertise while decreasing the workforce deficiency in particular areas.

In conclusion, I agree that individuals should continue working even after retirement age when they are able to do. This can enhance their quality of life while allowing society to benefit from their experience, knowledge and proficiency.