Rapid technological advancements have created a 'digital divide,' where some individuals and communities lack access to technology and the internet. What problems does this digital divide create, and what solutions can bridge this gap and ensure equal access for all?

In today’s world, technology has become an integral aspect of our lives. Especially in education, it has become easier for students to access information, thanks to the internet. Moreover, students who possess devices such as iPads and laptops have been able to carry all their notes, books and materials with them easily. However, students in some parts of the world are unable to reach these developments, leading to unequal access to education. In my opinion, the solution is very obvious unless governments oversee this issue. Wisely distributing resources and prioritizing education could rapidly improve and handle this inequality in the world.

The internet is fundamental for acquiring knowledge. In education, it is the prime source for accessing up-to-date information together with technological inventions. Owing to recent developments, it has been highly useful for pupils to reach many sources regardless of their language, price and size. Most of the textbooks and notes are open to download as PDF, which one can read and annotate using their iPad. Unfortunately, some countries do not show the required attention to the education of their young citizens and , therefore, they lack the opportunity to reach these developments. Their knowledge is limited to the books that are provided by the school and there is no encouragement for them to exceed their potential. As a result, when these students try to compete against their international peers, they usually fall behind. As an example, we can see it in PhD applications to Cambridge University. Even though there are many students from disadvantaged backgrounds who succeed to get accepted, most of the successful applicants are from western countries. It highlights the unfair environment in education.

As a solution, governments should be called into action to allocate more of their funds and resources into educational technologies. For example, in Turkey, the Ministry of Education provides free internet for students and tablets to help their studies. It helped socioeconomically disadvantaged children to reach the same level as their peers in affluent countries. More students have been able to surpass their potential and get involved in science. Hence, their success in international science olympiads have increased accordingly.

In conclusion, the world is not fair in terms of education and access to technological resources. This unequal environment prevents bright students to show themselves in the international arena. Therefore, authorities should become aware of this situation and provide the required opportunities to individuals.