Reading for pleasure can develop imagination and language skills better than watching TV. To what extent you agree or disagree?

In the modern society, people have various ways to entertain themselves, like watching tv, surfing the internet and reading for pleasure. Many people believe that reading for pleasure

Is more helpful in developing people’s imagination and language skills than watching TV. I completely agree with the view that Reading for pleasure would nurture one’s imagination and language skills better than watching TV.

The main reason is that reading for pleasure requires people to invest more efforts in imagining the story and practicing language skills than watching TV. When people are watching TV, they always receive the information by ears and eyes passively and they might not be concentrating on the TV consistently as there are too many choices on programs. However, when people are reading for pleasure, the readers usually focus on one book they are interested in. During the process of reading, readers must have a deep understanding on the storyline, the characters and the twists so that they could turn the words into a lively world imagined in mind which could develop people’s imagination and language skills efficiently.

Another main reason is that reading for pleasure have a more complex texts and profound content than watching TV. Since TV aims to deliver the interesting programs for most people, its texts are always organized in a accessible way and programs on TV are mainly focusing things associated with people’s daily life. However, reading would provide a story to readers.

In conclusion, while both reading for pleasure and watching TV give people the changes to enhance imagination and language skills, reading for pleasure plays a more critical role in nurturing imagination and language skills.