Recent research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes after they are released.

Some people are of the opinion that most criminals often reoffend after they are out of prison. In this essay, I will analyze major triggers and suggest several solutions to address this problem.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why prisoners can recommit crimes after being released. First of all, one of the main reasons is these criminals return to the negative living environment where they lived previously, including violence, poverty, and even the high crime rate. Moreover, it is also hard for them to find a stable job due to the lack of support from the authorities. Therefore, they are likely to reoffend as a way to make a living and sustain their lives. Secondly, after being released, ex-criminals may have difficulties in reintegration to society, especially when they have to suffer discrimination and stigma from citizens. As a result, these criminal records make them hard to have a normal life and they often tend to have negative feelings and thinking, so they may engage in illegal activities again.

On the other hand, in order to reverse the situation, there are several effective ways that the government can implement. Initially, the government should provide suitable jobs for ex-prisoners through vocational training programs. Therefore, they can acquire necessary skills to be able to find suitable jobs, helping them earn money, leading to a better future after their release. With employment, not only helps them achieve financial independence but also deters them from re-committing crimes, because they now have a legal source of income. For example, in some prisons in Europe, criminals are provided with good living conditions and taught trades such as cooking, mechanics, or gardening, helping them find employment after being freed. Second, the authorities should organize the re-education programs to focus on changing prisoners’ moral cores, mindsets, and healthy lifestyles, encouraging them to modify their thinking and behaviour. These programs help them desire to become a good citizen and contribute to the country’s development.

In conclusion, many criminals often reoffend after they are released because of the living environment where they lived previously having negative factors, additionally, they are also marginalized and find it difficult to lead a normal life. However, this problem can be dealt with by providing ex-prisoners with suitable jobs and encouraging them to change their negative thinking and behaviors.