Remote work has become increasingly common in recent years. Some argue this impairs work habits generally. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the number of remote workers has risen significantly, and there is a debate in society that this creates bias in the work environment and practice. I totally disagree with this statement, because remote work enhances productivity by increasing productivity not only in a small room or office but also saves energy and time by removing commuting. Firstly, I will discuss why workplace matters, and secondly, how individuals create a good work-life balance by discarding commuting.

First of all, in offices there is a lot of gossip and noise. Not only can they eliminate this kind of distraction, but they can also focus more on their job, and employees can design their workspace and schedule to match their peak productivity hours. Many studies show output increased during remote periods. For example, in some offices, some employees do not show professionalism on the job; in this way, they create other distracting habits, like interrupting their colleagues with useless conversations. By contrast, working from home allows individuals to create their own workspace and schedule their own tasks, and create a personalized and quiet environment for themselves.

Secondly, another benefit of a remote job is that it improves employees’ work-life balance. Commuting weekdays to the office can be exhausting for individuals; there are so many factors, like traffic jams, using public transport during peak hours, and sleeping less. This consumes considerable energy and time, leading to stress and frustration before even the workday starts. For example, in Baku, public transport in rush hours is stuck, and some people have to wake up 3 or 4 hours before their work starts. Therefore, removing commuting to the office can reduce their stress, thus reducing burnout and improving work-life balance.

Consequently, 2 possible disagreement opinions were discussed, and I agree with the fact that remote jobs offer better work-life balance and a self-centred workplace.