Remote work: "With advances in technology, more people are working remotely. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?"

Distant working is becoming more popular among people due to advancement of technology. It has some downsides such as isolation and potential work-life imbalance, however, i believe it is positive change, as it enhances productivity and offers more flexible schedule for employees.

Remote work includes some disadvantages in term of isolation and work-life imbalance. Workers who work distantly feel loniless and isolated from society since they are lack of face-to-face interactions and work environment. The second main disadvantage is complexity of establishing balance between personal and professional life. It is because of unclear boundary between work and life, which leads to overworking or even excessive rest. For example, IBM was a pioneer in remote work, with up to 40% of its workforce working remotely in the 2000s. However, in 2017, the company called employees back to offices, citing challenges in collaborations and innovation.

The prime advantage of remote work is flexibility, which allows people to facilitate their time management. They do not waste time commuting and can spend this spared time for something more useful instead. Furthermore, working from home increases productivity, allowing workers perform more tasks without distractions from a traditional office environment. For instance, a 2022 report from Microsoft found that 87% of employees feel more productive when working remotely or in hybrid setups.

In conclusion, although working from distance has serious drawbacks such as feeling of isolation and work-life imbalance, the advantages of it overweigh the other disadvantages, as it rises productivity and gives people more flexible schedule.