Retire age should be extended. Do you agree or disagree?

is often argued that people’s lifespan has increased compared to earlier, so the age of retirement should be extended. However, in my opinion, I completely disagree with this statement and believe that the current retirement age should remain unchanged.

There are several reasons why I think the present retirement age should be continued. Firstly, it provides opportunities for young people to get jobs. In other words, after retiring, the position that was held by an employee who retires becomes vacant, and therefore, the company can recruit new staff for that position. As a result, it contributes to curbing the unemployment rate. Secondly, it also keeps older people away from the stress that comes from work. Not only does it give them the chance to stay at home and spend time with family, but it also provides pension money. Therefore, they do not need to worry about their expenses after retiring. For example, in Canada, the government has fixed a certain age for retirement and provides a sustainable amount of money so that retirees can enjoy their later years.

In addition, if the retirement age is raised, there is a chance it could affect workers’ health because they may not be suitable for facing the challenges of their job. As a result, they may suffer from various health issues. Moreover, it could create distance between them and their family. If they spend most of their time in the workplace, they will be unable to spend time with family members, particularly with their children. For example, many families do not have strong bonds because they do not spend enough time together.

In conclusion, considering the factors discussed above, I believe that the current retirement age should remain fixed.