School does not prepare students for the world of work

Nowadays, a large number of people criticize the curriculum in schools because it does not really prepare schoolchildren for working life. In my view, it certainly contributes to getting them ready for their future careers.

Originally, schools are meant to provide basic knowledge about the world, and the world of work is not an exception. The educational system develops students’ personal qualities, such as creativity and communication skills, which are quite important in many jobs. Plus, pupils are taught to work in a team or solve problems by themselves, which leads to their independence and socialization as individuals. Take my mother, for instance, she studied hard at school and even though she didn’t go to a university, she was offered a job by a successful company.

Furthermore, schools often challenge students by conducting competitions or olympiads. It reveals their talents and fosters their competitive spirit which will lead to development across multiple fields in the future.

However, all school students lack practical experience that education does not often provide. Moreover, they overpay attention to theory rather than practice, and it unfortunately and frequently demotivates young children to study. In addition, a strict and equal attitude toward all students is not always good. Hard-working students must be rewarded and lazy ones must be encouraged to study.

In conclusion, I believe that schools actually prepare students for their future careers, but most people don’t notice this. If schools really provided more practice, there would be no doubt that education is one of the best ways to get ready for working life.