Schools are no longer necessary because children can get so much information available through the Internet.

I strongly believe that schools are necessary for imparting quality education and developing young minds. Schools are crucial milestones in a person’s life as they help us sharpen our minds, think logically and build connections that will last a lifetime. On the other hand, children may be exposed to content that isn’t age-appropriate while trying to learn on the Internet.

Schools discipline young minds, giving them a space to grow intellectually. Learning in classrooms, with their peers, is an essential step of a child’s development. Schools aren’t only havens of knowledge but also opportunities for children to make friends, enhance their social skills, and develop their emotional intelligence. When socialising with kids their age, children learn how to speak politely, behave properly and deal with public situations effectively. Additionally, the bonds that they form in school with their classmates can blossom into budding friendships.

At first glance, the Internet may seem like an arena to gain endless knowledge, but it is a double-edged sword. In their pursuit of education, children may stray away from their curriculum and be influenced by harmful content. Children may be prematurely exposed to adult content and perhaps, the Dark Web. Such content will impact their young, pliable minds and may lead to improper beliefs, misguided thoughts and a lack of sensitivity.

To reiterate, Schools cannot be replaced by the Internet because this shift would have detrimental consequences on our next generation. Instead, the regulated Internet material can be used as a tool by teachers to broaden children’s understandings in classrooms.