Schools should do more to teach students about their health and wellbeing. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a recent suggestion for schools to provide additional classes, raising students’ awareness about their mental and physical health. In my opinion, I wholeheartedly support this proposal because of the potential increase in students’ productivity and holistic societal well-being.

It is necessary to have more lessons for students to learn how to take care of themselves because this will enable them to lead a healthier lifestyle. Currently, students have to oblige to a heavy study schedule, stacked with mostly academic subjects, which requires them to sit in one place and concentrate for long hours. This, however, unintentionally results in a sedentary living habit that eventually contributes to chronic illnesses, such as obesity or cardiovascular diseases among the younger generation, which is presently evident in American students. Therefore, replacing some subjects with more classes that allow students to be active both physically and mentally is essential, as it not only helps them stay fit but also relax after long periods of mental strain.

Additionally, such an influence also positively spreads to other people and ultimately fosters an overall healthy society. Given that the younger generation can affect other members of their family, once they are equipped with accurate knowledge of the importance of health and how to maintain it, they can encourage their parents to follow. Children can persuade their mother and father to participate in sports and physical activities with them, or even discourage them from consuming unhealthy, processed food and beverages. Likewise, more lessons teaching students about health are indispensable, as they will also benefit society as a whole.

In conclusion, I advocate for schools to introduce more health and well-being classes. This is because it is advantageous not only to children but also to the entire society by mitigating preventable illnesses.