Schools should do more to teach students about their health and wellbeing. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a recent suggestion that educational institutes ought to increase students’ knowledge and awareness about their health. In my opinion, I agree with this statement because this will allow the young generation to take care of themselves, and foster a healthy society.

The first prominent benefit stemming from this action is that children will be able to improve their well-being. Currently, most students are living a sedentary lifestyle, rarely participating in regular physical activity, as they are prone to sit in one place for long hours, focusing on their academic studies. This, however, leads to an increasingly obese and overweight population, with a high potential for chronic illnesses such as cardiovascular diseases and high blood pressure. Therefore, this problem will be alleviated once schools start to emphasize the importance of and show children how to keep fit. In Vietnam, seminars about physical and mental well-being have shown to be successful in encouraging children to stay proactive in taking care of themselves without the supervision of their parents, lowering the number of preventable illnesses.

Another advantageous effect is the potential healthy community. Children are highly influential to the older generations since they are vulnerable and often get the highest attention from other individuals. Hence, once children are equipped with accurate knowledge to keep themselves well, this can filter to other members of their families. For example, children have a persuasive influence on their parents, and they can ask their mom or dad to join them in sports or discourage them from consuming unhealthy foods or drinks. Hence, the well-being of a whole society will undoubtedly improve and will last for a long period because the awareness is deepened through many generations.

In conclusion, I support schools providing lessons to equip students with practical knowledge to take care of themselves physically and mentally. This can not only lower health problems among the young generation but also benefit the whole community’s overall well-being.