SCHOOLS SHOULD FOCUS ON ACADEMIC SUCCESS AND PASSING EXAMINATIONS. SKILLS SUCH AS COOKERY, DRESSMAKING AND WOODWORKING SHOULD NOT BE TAUGHT AT SCHOOL AS IT IS BETTER TO LEARN FROM FAMILY

Much has been debated over whether schools should prioritize scholastic achievements, leaving practical skills including cookery, dressmaking and woodworking to be learned from family. While there are justifications for this thinking, I believe that providing soft skill courses at school help students identify their strength and relieve stress

One the one hand, it is understandable why some people believe that schools should focus on achieving academic success and not shoulder the responsibilities of teaching vocational skills. The key rationale lies in the fact that children have already handled a massive amount of workload at school. They are expected to apply themselves to perform well in exams and gain outstanding academic achievements in their study path. Perhaps, introducing additional vocational subjects such as cooking and dressmaking may likely put more pressure on children, thereby making them overwhelmed with the heavy workload. In addition, such skills should be taught at home so that children can spend more time learning with parents, therefore becoming less vulnerable to stress and mental health problems. Considering these factors, the belief that school should mainly focus on academic record and exam preparation seems justifiable.

On the other hand, I am convinced that soft skills courses should be provided at school. First, since not all parents have enough free time to teach their children practical skills, vocational subjects can be offered as extracurricular activities at school, which allow students to learn new skills and explore their true interests. By engaging in vocational courses, children have the opportunities to increase skills, which allow them to enhance their competence. The implication of this would help cultivate problem-solving skills. Moreover, students will have the chance to interact with their friends, which allows children to develop interpersonal skills and foster deeper connection with them. Ultimately, this can lead to a more fulfilling educational experience, as students can develop essential skills and release all negative feelings.

In conclusion, while there are justifications that students must prioritize academic courses, I would contend that vocational subjects equip students with numerous life skills, which can help them develop socially.