Schools should focus on more practical skills than academic subjects . Discuss both views.

There is a debate over which what school curriculum should place emphasis on. A school of thought argues that academic subjects are more of importance, while others state that it is practical skills that prepare students for real-life situations and employment. Both viewpoints are justifiable, but I personally lean towards more the latter.

There are many compelling reasons why students should be taught more academic subjects. One of which is that they develop critical thinking and reasoning skills, which is essential for higher education and professional careers such as medicine, law, and engineering. Having these skills enables young generation to solve global problems, enhancing human welfare. Take water scarcity, for example, if school students know how to deal with it using their academic knowledge, it can make a huge difference in people’s lives. Perhaps as not important, but academic subjects cover a wide range of areas such as history, politics, science, and culture, resulting in well-informed individuals who understand society better.

Despite aforementioned advantages, I am convinced that practical skills play an integral role in work and daily life. Since practical skills are more about applying theory in real life, students are highly likely to start working after learning skills like cooking, coding, or driving. They can directly use what they learn in their daily lives. For instance, a amechanic with practical training can fix a car without needing deep theoretical knowledge. Moreover, there is a high chance of employability. Large companies and organisations often prefer candidates with hands-on experience, providing students with lifelong careers.

In conclusion, although academic subjects have significant benefits, I think practical skills are far more beneficial.